Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes - book review



I am sure that I am the last to start reading this series.What have I been  doing these last years????? Honestly, I don't know!!!!! And if by any chance you haven't read that either let's start reading this series together!!! 



If you are a fan of Game of Thrones or fantasy books in general (who isn't actually?!?!) you'll also love this book!
The cover also says  "Perfect for fans of Game of Thrones" and if that doesn't persuade you a character dies in the first few pages!!! Do not get attached! Hahaha!! I went to this book knowing nothing about the plot and I was pleasantly surprised by this book!

In this book we have three kingdoms in the brick of war.
Limeros, Paelsia and Auranos. Limeros and his king try to conquer the two other kingdoms of Mytica. We read through different points of view which is awesome, as the cast of characters is legit! You know you're reading a great fantasy book if there is a page explaining the different characters!!

Cleo is one of our main characters and my favorite one! She is the younger princess of Auranos, daughter of King Corvin. She is sassy and strong and stubborn! Very stubborn!!! I love her! ๐Ÿ˜

Magnus is another main character of our story. He is the prince of Limeros and son of the king, Gaius. He seems bad, well he is bad, but his character kind of attracts me... Even though I don't like him... at the moment! ๐Ÿ˜˜ Hahaha! 

Lucia is Magnus' sister but not b birth. She now discovers the truth of her past and learns about her magic that is going to play a significant part in the war ahead.

And lastly, Jonas, a rebel from Paelsia, is 

Everything starts when Cleo travels to Paelsia and a tragic event happens there that set everything in motion. 

The romances in this book are great too! I won't tell anything to spoil you except of the one between Cleo and Theon, her bodyguard. They made such a cute couple and my heart ached for them....! ๐Ÿ˜ญ

And that's everything that I will tell you about since I don't want to spoil anything!

Morgan Rhodes writing style is magical! You an't put the book down and you will want to keep reading till the end!! She writes so amazingly that I could really quote her entire book! So many nice phrases! 

I rated this book with 4 stars as I believe the next books will be better and better!



Some of my favorite quotes are:

“Even paradise could become a prison if one had enough time to take notice of the walls.” 

"I've found rumors have much in common with feathers. It's rare that either holds much weight."

"My father plan to announce my engagement to Aron soon." Her breath hitched. "Officially!"

He grimaced. "Now I see why you're so upset. An engagement to a handsome lord. How horrible that must be for you"

"I never said she was evil. Nor was she good. Even in the darkest and most cruel person, there is still a kernel
of good.And within the most perfect champion, there is also darkness. The question is, will one give in to the dark
or the light? It's something we decide with every hoie we make, every day that we exist. What might be evil to 
you could be evil to someone else. Knowing this makes us powerful even without magic." 

“Magic will find those with pure hearts, even when all seems lost.”

“You're the same as you were yesterday and the day before. Nothing has changed. Not really. Forget what troubles you. Regret nothing, but learn from any mistakes you make. Tomorrow will be a brighter day, I promise.” 

“Hate is such a strong emotion. Much more powerful than indifference. But those who burn with hate can also love just as intensely. Can't they? When you hate--or love--do you do so with all your heart? So much that it feels as if you might die from it?” 

"You must continue to believe with all your heart. Sometimes belief is all it takes to make something real." 

“My grief has burrowed into me like a dark thing that eats away at my life.” 

“If you want something, you have to take it. Because nobody's ever going to give it to you. So we're going to take back what has been taken from us. Ad then we'l' create a better future for Paelsia. A better future for us all.” 


That's all for now!
Thank you for reading this post! 
Have you read this book??? I want to know your opinion too!
See you soon!
xoxo Joan!

You could also check this book on Goodreads as the summary is pretty amazing:

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed... and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that's certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It's the eve of war.... Choose your side.

Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people's revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword....
 



Lastly, If you want to check another fantasy series you could check Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch!

Bye!!! 

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog